uber loneliness

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« In the recent archives of this blog and on youtube I tell of an uber delivery that was impossible to complete, so with, Matthew’s, the intended customer’s agreement I cancelled. Matthew warned me when I called from Vito’s with his food that I could not complete the trip on a bike, and later I called him surrendering. The only bike route between Vito’s and Matthew is fourteen miles, which would not have gotten Matthew’s dinner to Matthew while it was still dinnertime. I was left with two thoughts: ONE: oh shit . . . I’ve hit an uber-bike anomaly, and uber has no way to address this incompatibility of bikes on select routes TWO: oh shit . . . I’ve hit an uber bike anomaly, and uber has pre addressed this problem, and just happened to overlook the specific route incompatibility that kept Matthew from his Vito’s food. Dear kind readers: If you’re doing uber you experience similar things when the app says one thing and reality says something else. Faced with these collisions with reality you might think: ¿Am I uber quality control in the development stage of app programming? or does uber have a preexisting solution, and my jam is only a singular oversight. Sincerely, Tom Doody. Trying to determine what the app is thinking when it appears to expose incompetence is maddening, because doing uber deliveries and hitting a jam like I hit is a lonely experience. This is a natural outcome of the internet. Someone who likes playing the dulcimer might feel there is no one around him or her with similar interest, but the internet connects these musician to the pleasure of all. My jam with uber has a similar cause. The internet app connects me to something bigger, but when the app fails me I’m like the lonely pre-internet dulcimer musician. »» about me 302-990-2346 contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

