NFL y United Airlines

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« I’m at LAX with Hana burning time before our flight to Lihue Airport Kauai Hawaii. This is the first time I’ve flown since the United-Dr.-Dao-get-jacked-from-flight debacle. I learned two lessons in recent moments: ONE: the Dr.-Dao-United-Airlines moment was not limited to the Andy Warhol fifteen minutes of fame, but rather the media glare lingers. TWO: NFL loyalties are able to spread joy through a stadium-full of NY Jets fans if Tom Brady were popped for a DUI and jailed, but the oversimplified NFL-team loyalties don’t apply to airlines. My first point is self evident, and the second one about airline loyalties being unlike NFL-team loyalties was demonstrated twice in the recent hour. Deplaning with a female flight attendant along with several male passengers including me making a play for the space in the isle. One man told the flight attendant a travel horror story, which in itself is stupid. She’s a professional and her mental rolodex of passengers who misbehave can out talk any ameteur a hundred to one. In addition he whacked at United with a, “It was probably United”, which was received by the flight attendant with meh. The joke at United’s expense fell flat . . . like a reincarnated-George-Carlin-words-you-can’t-say flat. I confirmed what I thought happened with a patient and kind male employee in the LAX terminal moments later. Ironically he seem to be roaming with the purpose of offering chance assistance to AA travelers, and he talked to me like he had time to burn. The AA man confirmed no one in the airline industry celebrated United’s missteps like a Jets fan would celebrate a Tom-Brady DUI. I’m extending this text to insult the NFL and NFL fans including me on a more systematic scale . . . I had reason to revisit the fall of Lyle Alzado. As a boy approaching puberty I and my friends would say his name when we were trying to be masculine. Lyle’s career took him briefly to Cleveland where he made himself famous on Mark Avenue and many streets and avenues of Cleveland and its suburbs. Lyle was already falling from grace, and he continued to fall tragically. The celebration of NFL is disgusting. We’ve known what happened to Lyle could happen and many people knew then it was happening systematically. Lyle’s trouble was pinpointed as cancer traced to performance enhancing drugs, and the more common NFL trouble is head injury. Whatever the medical mechanism NFL players are celebrated and many of them are cast away like dirt. Since I love NFL I am part of the problem with no proposed solution . . . and I don’t think I’m better than anyone else justs because I’m aware of the trauma of aging players. NFL is disgusting, and the disgusting sport is part of me. NFL has knitted a place of fondness in me, and I’ll die loving the sport. Knowing what NFL does to its aging players is shameful. »» about me 302-990-2346 contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

