Francis Joseph Rachor

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« Dear my Guayaquil barrio amiga: Our extended chat in your office yesterday was fun. At times our subjects transcended the moment, and then reality would bring us back to now with a run to the meter or a ringing phone. I’m smiling now recalling the moments. The internet has morphed social interaction making vis-a-vis less common, and many times more satisfying like it was yesterday, but . . . vis-a-vis is not always multimedia. Yesterday it was multimedia with the exception of this pic. The man central to the pic is my late Uncle Joe 1915 – 1912. Joe was older than his sister, my mom, Martha, who is also in the pic talking to Joe’s wife, my aunt Rosemary. Joe’s hair turned grey early, so he always seemed old to me. Really, I have no memory of my uncle when I thought of him as a young man yet he survived my first born son, David, who would not be born till for another decade, and the relationship that produced David, me and my first wife, Angie, would not begin for another half decade. Crazy. Joe survived David. Didn’t see that comin’. For me this pic is overstocked with depth including Nelson who later married into and out of the family. Unmarried out of the family is a fantasy some family members entertain, but to me family membership is an emotional spiritual determination that leaves me without the power to arbitrate membership. Nelson married into the family, and “What God joined”. Joe had an uncanny undeniable power to make himself feel present to me even when he was absent. Even when he was absent for long periods of time . . . and even now with tear-filled eyes in his death. Uncle Joe, Francis Joseph Rachor (his father, my Gpa, had the same name so he was always known as Joe). was awesome. ciao amiga, Tomas »» about me 302-990-2346 contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

