Heaven’s Gate

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« The vid I watched on cults was an archive TED talk. Included in the report helping the audience understand the attraction was reference to the most newsworthy cults gone wrong: ONE: Jonestown TWO: Heaven’s Gate. I was able to trace the date of Heaven’s Gate to a time in my life when I was unplugged. A near-death stroke was years before in 1994, and my first marriage was pulling part. I was working in my home life and professional life including cleaning and kid time. Work, home, and kids combined to make me distracted. It’s strange for me to think about this period of my life only in term what I missed. Kurt Cobain rose to fame and died with me only learning about him with notice of Kurt’s death. Heaven’s Gate was a mass planned suicide that went in stages with the leader and two women being the final dead. The two women were the only bodies found without their heads covered. The cult had stated goals of uniting with aliens with some names borrowed from Star Trek. The level-ten strangeness would have held the headlines for weeks. The mystery of the suicide motive is smaller than the mystery of how my attention was scuestraded when the cult members offed themselves, but both remain mysteries. »» about me 302-990-2346 contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

