Indian-Terone model

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« Understanding does not always require being correct. There is no contradiction in the aforementioned phrase if being correct is evasive, and this especially applies to subtle cultural differences, and especially applies to my day today. I am the one American of a Indian-Indian-American management trio, and I have been trusted by my Indian duo partners to hunt and leverage the professional capabilities of a web developer, and all three of us could have predicted my hunt would end in India, so why give the job to the only member who is not ¿Indian? This weirdness is something I need to try to understand though it’s impossible to be correct, because Indians cannot see themselves from the perspective of a non Indian, or at least can’t with National unity making a hard fast conclusion of “correct” or “incorrect”, so I advance my thinking alone. My Italian wife would want me to use the more precise word, “Terone” in place of the “Italian” stereotype of Mafia, honor killing, and family. The stereotypical Terone is provincial. The stereotypical Terone trusts family first and considers trusting non family an oversized risk. If I apply the Terone model to Indians it helps me understand about ten things. Literally I can sit here and Rolodex through ten Indian situational things where it seemed Indians were unnecessarily hesitant to trust other Indians. I mentioned two: ONE: there are many Indians in the US yet my Indian partners are willing to trust me over many Indian alternatives TWO: eztechmasters was a start up I was partnered in and when it crashed one member accused another of stealing computers putting the accused in prison. I return where I stated. This intellectual analysis may be useful even though it’s not correct. Stereotypes can be offensive and degrading even when they seem harmless, so I would never argue this Indian-Terone model as if I need to be correct. I don’t crave correctness; I crave understanding. »» about me 302-990-2346 nearlincoln@hotmail.com contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

