Millennials ¿Tech savvy?

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« Yesterday a woman intending to dial the DHL company dialed me an authorized shipper instead. The moment rerouted my usual pledge to text the correct number and I’m done . . . sixty seconds. I suggested the alternative where she forwarded the troubled DHL email to me after I texted her my email address. “I’m not good at cutting and pasting”. ¿Really? I’m at risk of insulting a reader, but I think the risk is low. Anyone who explores and chooses to read my blog probably reacts the way I did . . ¿Really? She was lacking any obvious causes to lack basic tech skills like elderly, mentally retarded, or disabled in other ways . . she could text, so we ended the call with her pledge to text me the tracking number. Dear kind readers: Yesterday’s discovery of someone lacking basic tech skills is a regular event for me. In addition to me the only people who know this woman lacks basic tech skills are the people she’s in an intimate relationships with. As long as she is literate she can continue to hide her tech troubles. People can hide heroin addiction like they hide tech problems, but sometimes people die conspicuous deaths from heroin while nothing happens to expose people who lack basic tech skills. What I’m trying to tell you is the problem someone close to you has dealing with tech is way more widespread than you might think. Sincerely, Tom Doody. Someone who pays cash at a business when most people epay might just be exercising the cash option, but it could be a phobia of all things tech. DHL is the type of service many people with an international life need, and often documents are going to another country when a cheaper faster alternative is to scan and email, but DHL requires a an epayment forcing people trying to avoid all things tech into a tech moment. I’ve positioned my services to accept cash, so I get the tech-phobic people, which gives me a flash moment into the temporary insanity people experience when they’re forced to deal with modern systems. Tech limits are widespread and hidden, and there is even a Millennial version of this hidden problem, which in some ways is more severe, because Millennials are burdened with the tech-savvy label. »» about me 302-990-2346 nearlincoln@hotmail.com contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

