@united b schooled by @potus

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« The woman steps ahead of Hana and I on our way to a barrio NYC bus stop was wearing leggings. Not Millennial college-girl stoppy-style leggings, but NYC business-formal leggings. From the woman’s corporate stiletto heels clicking the pavement to her umbrella this woman was a level of formality above business casual. I can imagine how the men who might travel with her would dress, and it’s the same way I dressed when I worked for a Japanese company, which was a level of formality higher than the American companies that employed me. If she were denied boarding while the men she traveled with were allowed to board it would be the basis of a fun expression of outrage like yesterday’s United Airlines social-media row. “No leggings” got written into the United dress code for employees traveling on benefit, and United has no reason to panic and backoff their policy. “No leggings” is regrettable, and should be review, but United at this moment has not yet errored though I think they missed opportunity. If United took a lesson from President Trump who is a master of fanning flames of controversy, they could have ridden the wave of attention positioning themselves as a modern corp who listens to the public’s concern. If I were at the helm and authorized to tweet for UA I would be sure in advance I had a twitter-verified UA account I could access. I would add “tweets today from Tom Doody” to the profile. I would have a pre written statement separating me from UA if I fucked up. Por supuesto, using the “fuck” word is one example of an act of separation. While leaving the @united account untouched I would begin tweeting, retweeting, replying, and having fun with the controversy. I would try to get people into a multiparty youtube live, and debate the leggings event. President Trump is not a role model for how any man would want his son to treat women (at least this man, me), but he is awesome on twitter if fanning the flames of controversy is your goal . . take a lesson from @potus @united. »» about me 302-990-2346 nearlincoln@hotmail.com contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

