ur dad ¿Stern?

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« A listener reacted to my voice on youtube favorably. She said, “stern, strong, and gets attention”. I accepted the compliment graciously, “thank you” passed back through the chain. The phrase is unquestionably a compliment especially in the context. Her choice of words also points to my relationship with my three kids until David died, and my daughter and surviving son since David died. “Gets attention” is a compliment, but for a teenager who wants his or her dad to be transparent it’s bad. “Strong” sounds good, but for a kid who’s trying to grow up and be strong himself or herself a dad with a strong voice can be bad. “Stern” most of all explodes the gap between me and the people who have or had me as their father. ¿What’s your dad like? stern. Stern is not warm kind, and fun. Stern is what a kid thinks he or she wants dad not to be. My dad was not stern; I am, and a few-minute youtube video tells a large part of my story. »» about me 302-990-2346 nearlincoln@hotmail.com contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

