I deny it

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« The hours-long intimate conversation at Caboozs with Troy surprised me. I’m surprised by the time I dedicated to her. She kept my interest when with other chance conversations with the several-hour enduring potential I would have been out . . . after . . . less time. It was flirtatious giving reason for both her boyfriend and my wife to be uncomfortable though I was comfortable beginning to end. It was fun. Somehow my explanation of my interest in Asian women included a mention of a boss who people had reason to believe we were sexually active though I said, “I’d deny it”. She assumed this was confirmation of a relationship consummated with sexual activity, and I only repeated, “I deny it”. She said, “like Bill Clinton then”. My point is: Me saying, “I deny it” is the same as, “I did not have sex with that woman”. Either way a denial or a statement of fact can point to the opposite. It is true much was in place for a relationship to be consummated with sex. She was my boss; she was married; I deny it. This was not the first pressure, but it was the most pressure I’ve taken on the subject, and my rehearsed, “I deny it” statement was effective in the ways I imagined it being effective. To say my former boss and Troy were almost hookups way overstates what happened tonight, but there is truth to this idea of people who are committed who have fun flirtatious what-if time with someone else. It feels good, but it’s terminal. A useful, “friendship” is nearly impossible. Only overly optimistic people see a future. »» about me 302-990-2346 nearlincoln@hotmail.com contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

