La La Land

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« Dear kind readers: Hating the Kardashians and hating musicals are two common legal hate activities. With this text I am claiming convincing a musical-hater to see La La Land on Sunday is my weekend goal, and I am suggesting you consider the same. Sincerely, Tom Doody. This musical hater might be the woman I’m legally married to. It might be the woman who shares a bed with me. It might be the woman I walk to the bus and greet at the bus routinely. It might be the woman I share meals with. It might be the woman who sits next to me on long international flights. It might be the woman who vacations with me. Dear kind readers: If the woman I want to convince to see La La Land is this aforementioned woman . . ¿Don’t you think it should be easy? Sincerely, Tom Doody. With all that we share one might think sharing side-by-side seats for a 00:02:10 movie is easy, but my proposed Sunday agenda has been greeted with resistance. Late-night comedy clips are so common in documentaries that one could argue: if it’s relevant US history then prove it with clips from late-night comedy. Some twisted process behind the Golden Globes got La La Land awarded big before its National release, which seems bogus, but that’s a side story. Emma Stone was in Birdman a recent Award winner with Michael Keaton and Ed Norton . . . wow . . and now she’s in another awarded movie. Sometimes awarded movies are a surprise, so I forgive myself for not seeing them. I also forgive myself for pledging to see an awarded movie and somehow not getting to it, but skipping. . . La La Land . . . can’t be forgiven. A lot of people overlook the Golden Globes, but . . . . 2017 included Streep trashing Trump, which solicited the tweet, “Streep is overrated”. Streep is overrated fueled late-night comedy making a future documentary-film worthy moment. There will be a lot of the Trump campaign and presidency we want to forget like Billy Bush and urinating Russian prostitutes, but the Meryl-Donald-Golden-Globe-La-La-Land moment is one to remember. Dear kind kind readers: Tomorrow is the day . . . if Hana and I don’t see La La Land, then my surge will probably never amass significance again, and . . . I won’t let it happen . . . I will see La La Land with Hana. You too should convince the musical-hater in your life to see La La Land. Sincerely, Tom Doody »» about me 302-990-2346 nearlincoln@hotmail.com contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

