holiday drunk

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« I’m drunk . . holiday drunk after dinner with Hana. Beyti is a Turkish restaurant in our barrio, and in a taste-the-world Anthony-Bourdain-endorsed manner Hana did not choose one of the many appetizers we are familiar with and like. Alternatively she navigated through language limits with Jonsu, our waitress, to get an authentically Turkish appetizer, and the result was awesome. Stuffed eggplant. I think of the many wonderful places eggplant appears in food including Italian, Chinese, and baba ganoush, which are awesome, but . . . not awesome enough . . . because imam bayildi is over-the-top mejor-todo-al-mundo best. Entre . . nobody . . . nobody does kabab like the people of Turkey. ¿Espresso? to cap a perfect meal . . “no” came from Jonsu, “We have Turkish coffee, which his just like expresso”. Okay I reluctantly tried it again . with Jonsu’s words and my emphasis: DON’T FINISH. As instructed I let it sit, and then I stopped when I saw grounds at the bottom. My mother conditioned me to finish everything, so stopping Turkish coffee before it’s too late goes against my childhood food lessons, but I’m converted, so not to shy away from Turkish coffee ever again thanks to my patient professora Jonsu. »» about me 302-990-2346 nearlincoln@hotmail.com contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

