Fidel concede ¿Good?

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« Sometime between sunset last night, and sunrise this morning news of Fidel’s death inspired public celebration in Miami’s little Havana. Some of the same sentiment motivating people to celebrate Fidel’s death is alive in my barrio, but the outward reaction is muted. ¿How muted is it? “La Hefa” I called “Fidel Castro comento . . . “, and “it’s about time was her reply”. In the event I have barrio readers who can pinpoint who I’m quoting I will deny it, and I can do this easily, because the most likely La Hefa could describe two women in my barrio. I am one who see the good reason to hate Fidel. I know several people including their personal stories whose assets were stolen by Fidel and they were forced off the island. One is my first Cuban friend I came to know with enough intimacy to hear stories like this: the 1926 island-born gay man left the island in his second sham marriage. This man told me Fidel put the gays on an island (a decade has passed and I have not heard a second claim of this gay island). In the days and weeks ahead I will attempt to find one thing good my barrio Cubans can concede, and at this moment I’ll lead with: ONE: improved the living conditions of the island’s very poor TWO: got health and literacy on par with rich countries THREE: purged the mafia from the island. Dear kind readers who feel like the moment of Fidel’s death is a moment to celebrate: I am not naive to Fidel’s horrible methods of getting and keeping power. Sincerely, Tom Doody »» about me 302-990-2346 nearlincoln@hotmail.com contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

