neutral-charged barrio

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« I visited Bradford Avenue near the Cherry Hill Hilton in New Jersey near the Walt Whitman Bridge. A remarkable number of people from this barrio made the trip to David’s, my late son’s, funeral more than a hundred miles away. David obviously created emotional capital among his friends during his pre-high-school years. I’m curious what the neighborhood meant to Erin and Ryan. I had a lingering sense a return would trigger emotion, but . . . I’m not even sure I found my former home, because the pretty dogwood I remember is not pretty this time of year and it seems to be on the wrong side of the driveway. It is common for people to avoid painful: ONE: locations TWO: topics THREE: people. Aside from my first wife I don’t think I avoid any of these. I talk about David’s death and my period of recovery that followed without hesitation. I visit the topic of my soiled relationships including my first wife when prompted, and as I did today I visited a place I expected to find some emotional charge, but found — just a faintly-memorable neutral-charged barrio. »» about me 302-990-2346 nearlincoln@hotmail.com contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

