“out there” yes; “easier” no

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« Last night I recorded and posted an obituary of Mr. Malley who is the recently deceased dad of a childhood friend, Packy. Deciding if I should put the link along with my comment on Packy’s notice felt significant since no response feels like the expected response when I’m most hungry for affirmation, but moments ago Packy’s “like” indemnifies me. Just as an attorney will argue that an event made his or her client comprised and compensation is needed to indemnify his or her client I had compromised myself by . . . . . Do I post a link on facebook with my comment — ¿What could be less important? — to me if felt significant, and one click by Packy rewards me for my risk. As the surviving father of a teenager, David, I feel more confident that I know what to do and say on the occasion of death, but in some ways that confidence forces me to reconcile with errors more than I would have to if I chose passive more often. Dear kind readers: I predict most of you have reason to think I am more comfortable expressing my personal thoughts and emotions openly on the internet than you are. You might think I’m, “out there” more than most people, and you may think it’s easy for me. “Out there” yes; “easy” no. If you can’t accept my denial that it easier for me, then please, I’m begging; I’ll do anything, por favor, reread this post, and imagine my relief of Packy’s, “like”, and then imagine that more common outcome: no response. I promise you it’s not always easier for me. Sincerely, Tom Doody »» about me 302-990-2346 nearlincoln@hotmail.com contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

