whole life digital potpourri

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« I leveraged an occasion  of Alejandro not working today to show him my vlogging from places familiar to him Caitlyn Jenner Sports Illustrated.  He wanted to know if I earn money, and the answer on my Caitlyn Jenner vid is clearly, “no” while . . . . for me answering Alejandro is complicated, because of my limited Spanish and because of the manner I mix my recreational life and professional life together in ways that’s uncommon.  Probably the only people who make a total-life potpourri with their digital footprint like I do are celebrities.  I have reason to believe the number of people who want to do what I do, but hesitate is not zero — probably very close to zero, but not zero.  My digital-life potpourri is a natural transition, but not an easy transition.  Though none burn in my memory now I’ve had countless social and business links to people that I attempt to advance, but they don’t.  Just like questioning bad breath or stained clothing related to a failed job interview I too have self doubt.  ¿If they weren’t able to access so much information about me, then maybe more of my links would strengthen?  This aforementioned question of insecurity is human and and no humans are exempt.  Even Mr. Putin who appears shirtless on the internet, and surrounds himself with people who support his every wish has self doubt — me too.  I have reason to believe the number of people who know me and think I have less self doubt than most people is not zero, and these people see me as I see me.  I feel I suffer from less self doubt than most people, but when darkness closes in, like my recent Postmates crash, my feeling of self doubt feels to me just as dark as the darkness experienced by anyone.  I have the feeling if the darkness does not clear, and instead is reinforced by additional failure, then I feel at risk of all the epic problems of the crashing celebs we obsess about.  I toured Alejandro though a week of my blog and showed him how: I mix political, sports, personal emotional, and business in my blog.  The hardest thing for me to believe is that I make this weekly digital potpourri and keep the attention of long-term serial readers.  I can only imagine they subconsciously deploy their Tom-Doody skim reader, which gets them quickly passed . . . “more of that shit”.  For me my digital potpourri is a transition made over more than a decade, and if I were pressed to articulate one benefit it’s this: nothing I put on my blog reaches zero people. »»  about me  302-990-2346  twitter  nearlincoln@hotmail.com  contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to whole life digital potpourri

  1. Erika M says:

    Tom, you bring up an excellent point when you ask, “If they weren’t able to access so much information about me, then maybe more of my links would strengthen?” I’ve wondered about this when reading your blog too. Maybe some of the business contacts you are trying to make have second thoughts after reading so much personal information about you. Some of your posts relating to family would definitely seem a little bit strange if taken out of context. Readers such as myself who have read your blog for years now probably have a fairly accurate picture of you, but a potential business contact could get a distorted view of you and be scared off if they only read a few of your posts.

    I also thought it was unusual the way you would tell someone that you were soliciting for debt relief that you also delivered food for Postmates. That definitely isn’t something that I personally would have mentioned. If you were marketing debt relief to me, the thoughts that would have crossed my mind would have been, “What does a food delivery guy know about debt relief?” or “If this guys is any good at this, then why does he have another job delivering food?” In other words I would definitely have concerns about opening up my books to you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

