final ceremony Ali and Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« With the help of google Hana’s iphone and my android phone are nearly identical when it comes to blogging, which for me requires two apps: WordPress and google drive.  Though in early years I was not able to articulate this desire I’ve wanted tech to become what it is at this moment.  No get-used-to time, or little get-used-to-time.  BBC has a nice set of clips from Muhammad Ali’s funeral including a woman in a black hat that shaded her face, Clinton, and Crystal.  ¿Are Muslims happy with the service?  Clinton could have said Muslim or Islam and not just, “man of faith”.  In the recent archives of this blog is a funeral I attended, and no fringe people spoke.  Just granddaughter, daughter, son, and brother of the deceased.  Rabbi too.  The deceased was not a celebrity like Muhammad Ali.  As the surviving father of a teenager I learned, my late son’s David’s, funeral was pivotal for my recovery, and I know the elements that were essential: all I could harvest.  I tried to take in everything on the day of his burial, and I missed 99% of it though time proved what I got was sufficient.  I remember one kid who was underdressed.  Shorts and a tee was not best to pay respect, and the dress of all the other kids seemed to affirm my reaction.  There was a moment for me to engage emotionally with this boy like I did with other strangers, but his casual appearance kept us apart.  ¿Me?  ¿Him?  I don’t know, but later I  thought if I had pulled him aside, and asked him to return with appropriate dress we might have had the opportunity.  If I had known how long the line was outside I would have acted.  I was the surviving father of the deceased, and though it wasn’t abundant I trust there was a sense the day should be good for me, and I trust the same emotional sense hovered in the core of the Ali mourners.  Whether it’s a shadowing of Ali’s Muslim faith or a kid in shorts it doesn’t matter.  I only absorbed one percent of David’s final ceremonies, and almost a decade later I recall the kid in shorts.  Final ceremonies can’t be perfect; each person needs only to trust his or her own sincerity. »»  about me  302-990-2346  twitter  nearlincoln@hotmail.com  contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

