my Ali echo chamber

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« @dmogahed writes and speaks about Islam.  This morning she was a guest of Democracy Now, and it’s on my listen-later list.  I suspect she speaks to what I have discovered myself doing, which is not seeing Muhammad Ali as a Muslim man.  I suspect @dmogahed’s message includes the irreconcilable difference between Muslims being villainized and Ali being praised.  Dear kind readers: If you’re unfamiliar please give a few worthwhile clicks or taps to, “echo chamber”.  Sincerely, Tom Doody.  Echo chamber is the concept of human nature’s effort to select agreeable information.  It’s natural, partly passive, and most of the time harmless. Donald Trump has been detected praising Ali, but demonizing Muslims, and arguments that Trump is dangerous and not harmless prevail.  I confess with this text to seeing Ali as an American boxer hero entertainer first and only his death reminded me of his religious dedication.  The fact that I had no ongoing sense of Ali as a Muslim man is my echo chamber at work.  If I had been a Muslim born in Turkey Ali’s dedication to Islam would have been central to my thinking of the Greatest.  The concept of, “echo chamber” is not new to me, but the phrase recently caught my attention.  I fascinated by how the internet makes it easier and sometime effortless to build a solid-boundary echo chamber.  With this text I pledge to continue to be aware of how and when I seek echos, and I renew my pledge to mix a broader-media-mix potpourri in my life. »»  about me  302-990-2346  twitter  nearlincoln@hotmail.com  contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

