foolish city-dog man

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel «« I’m sharing an elevator with a man about my age who appears emotionally distressed with apparent age about a decade my senior, and his little city dog is like him — anxious, ailing and appeared elderly.  The man voiced some call for help bringing the doorman to our elevator who made a pitiful attempt to have me switch to the service elevator.  Until my work as a Postmates delivery pro I was not aware of the architectural design efforts in modern buildings to accommodate servants, but they exist even in some of the most modern buildings.  Even the most generous designs collide with reality and produce no detectable segregation between residents and servants as it relates to the army of people like me delivering food.  Even the best designed and managed buildings that successfully divert me to the service infrastructure always fail at getting me to exit the building by retracing my steps.  I always exit the easiest way, which is reliably the resident exit and even the most hostile staff surrenders as I pass through the lobby.  The man and his city dog made an earnest attempt to separate himself from, “You’re delivery?”, but he failed.  Seeing the size of this delivery business, and calling it an army of delivery people is exaggerated for narrative effect, but saying a lot of people use their money to segregate themselves from down-status people is factual.  There are two occasions I could imagine myself separating myself from the city-dog man.  At a social engagement the dog man would be very near the very last persons on my prospect list for fun social, and I would always prefer a bar or restaurant that has no barking city dogs to one that sounds like a kennel.  Back in the day royalty went to great extents to segregate servant-class people.  As many pop dramas tells us men still managed to father children with the maids.  Lady Chatterly’s Lover repeats the drama reversing the genders, and Arnold Schwarzenegger is a non-fiction version.  As in our private spaces social purity can create perfect relaxation to deserving people, but when this social purity is forced with awkwardness we risk looking foolishly desperate like the city-dog man. »» about me  302-990-2346  twitter  nearlincoln@hotmail.com  contact us

About Tom Doody

middle-age American living in New Jersey near the Lincoln Tunnel
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

